Pear Ginger Preserves

pear preserves 03

 Preserves are my jam! (see what I did there?)

My friend Kaylee proposed the idea of making her families pear ginger jam recipe with her so the other night we got down to it. She does some landscaping here on the coast and was working at a house with a pear tree and it turned out that the people living in the house were not interested in doing anything with the pears. Kaylee gathered a shopping bag full, brought them by and we started peeling, shredding, and canning.

I always forget how easy canning is. In my mind it seems like a huge ordeal but once you get down to it it’s actually quite simple. After the initial “hard” work of shredding six pounds of pears and a bunch of ginger all you do is boil the mixture, simmer it and of course move into the canning procedure of boiling jars and lids.

 

pear preserves 02

 I wish I could show you photographs of the process but alas, my cameras battery was dead and I could not for the life of me find the charger so instead you can see the finished product. Both Kaylee & I are excited for the dead of winter to sink in where we can open a jar of this and remember the bounty that is late summer. Recipe to come (hopefully) with permission from Kaylee.

Canning is a fantastic activity to do with friends. You get to spend quality time with people you love and then you can all take some jars home. Up next in the canning/fermenting realm will be apple cider vinegar. Hopefully my kitchen will be full of preserves of all kinds this winter.

Leave a comment