Tea poached pears

13172801304_71565ec4fe_z

Breakfast, my favorite meal. Maybe brunch more so as I always seem to start with coffee and then it takes me a bit of time to get to the breakfast portion of my day.

I made this breakfast for a cook-off that some friends and I have been running for five years, almost six now. Sadly since I’ve moved away from Vancouver I rarely get to take part in the competition anymore but a few months back I entered the cooking with tea cook-off as a lover of tea who wanted to win as I lost this competition a year earlier by one point!

My entry for the first cooking with tea cook-off

My entry for the first cooking with tea cook-off

Currently the pear tree in my yard is bursting with my favorite fruit! Time to poach pears. Some poach pears in wine for an evening dessert but I enjoy tea poached pears for breakfast or any time of the day really.

To poach pears you will need tea, you can use tea bags (about five) or 6-7 teaspoons of loose black tea. I like to add lavender to my tea for added floral flavor. Steep the tea in 1 litre of boiling water for 5 minutes. Strain out the tea and place in a pot with up to a 1/4 cup of sugar (or less, depends on how sweet you want it) and bring to a simmer over medium/high heat. Add the pears that have been cored and sliced into 6-8 wedges. Lower the heat to medium/low and simmer for 20 minutes. Remove the pears and you’re done!

I use these in tarts, in oatmeal (as viewed above), or I eat them on their own. They are delectable and a perfect autumn treat.

Leave a Reply

